Request a Catalog
My Account

Your cart is currently empty

Give us a call:  (44) 0186 534 1222
Give us a call  (44) 0186 534 1222
Product Finder

TIA Telecommunication Industry Association

TIA was developed by manufacturers, end users and consultants to establish structured cabling standards. In addition to other telecom standards, TIA has established standards to define maximum cable lengths and termination of the pairs to an RJ-45 jack to ensure 100% compatibility with all network equipment.

Where were CAT5 and CAT6 cable standards derived? These commonly used cables were defined by TIA/EIA-58. EIA (Electronics Industries Alliance) standards are maintained within TIA. The categories of unsheilded twisted pair cable systems are based on single bandwidth, attenuation and cross-talk performance.

Category 3 (CAT3) cable is typicaly telephone wire, while Category 5 (CAT5) and Category 6 (CAT6) are used for Ethernet computer networks. Advances in data communication networks and the development of high performance twisted pair and fiber optic cables have contributed to many changes in TIA standards. With support from hundreds of members, TIA enhances the business environment for companies involved in telecom, broadband, mobile wireless, information technology, networks, cable, satellite, unified communications, emergency communications and the greening of technology.

Since 1988, TIA has advocated numerous policy issues for the benefit of its members, sponsored engineering committees that set standards determining the pace of development in the industry, provided a marketplace for members and their customers, and served as a forum for the examination of industry issues and industry information. Additional information can be found on the TIA website,  

Back to News